Introducing the Road Runner Pet Nanny

June 2, 2010 at 3:54 pm Leave a comment

Hello and welcome to the new Road Runner Pet Nanny blog! For my first post, I decided to share with you my journey that led me to pet sitting.

A few years ago, I was working a regular 8 to 5 job like most of you. I had been divorced for several years and my kids were raised and gone. My daughter had just graduated from college and was starting her own journeys in life, and my son was married with two children of his own.

I have always had pets –  in my childhood home as I was growing up, as well as in my own home raising my own family – so when my little sheltie mix Rebel (she was actually my son’s dog until he left home, hence the name) and my sweet cat Scamper passed away, I found myself a typical “empty nester”. No kids, no pets.

Rebel with my Grandkids

Scamper Lounging on the Piano

I had always loved traveling and decided that although I loved my job, I had come to a crossroads in my life. Was I going to keep working and have the security we all want? Or did I want to really step out of my box and totally change my life? I knew if I was going to do something drastic, it was now or never. So one day I got on the internet and found a seasonal job in Alaska. I put in my resignation at work, rented out my house, and headed to Alaska not quite knowing what to expect.

To be continued…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Alaskan Adventures

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



