How My Pet’s Love is My Holiday Gift

December 12, 2010 at 2:46 am Leave a comment

Trupanion Pet Insurance is having a blog contest and I decided to enter it.  I thought this holiday season would be a great time to share with all of you how important pets are to me, how much I love pet sitting and why they are such a wonderful holiday gift to me.

I was fortunate enough to have been raised having pets in our family.  Dad always had his hunting dogs, we had Tinkerbelle our cat, and mom had her canary Sugarfoot.  I was one of those kids who loved all animals and feared none.  Any dog on the street or cat in a tree, I was there to help.  I remember one time my dad and I went to a horse corral when I was very young and while Dad wasn’t looking I walked into the corral and right up to the horses.  My dad about had a heart attack knowing that the huge horses could have crushed me, but I think the animals must have sensed that I was no threat to them and were just so gentle.  I have my parents to thank for always having pets around so I could develop the love I had for them.

We even had a pet skunk when I was about 8 years old.  Dad found out about a man who raised and de-scented skunks so of course he had to get us one.  My sisters and I had Flower (we had to name him Flower, it was during the Bambi movie years) for many years and even took him to “show and tell” at school.  I’m pretty sure we were the only students who ever brought a skunk to school!

My sisters with our pet skunk Flower

Over the years our cat Tinkerbelle had several litters of kittens.  We always had a waiting list of people who wanted them.  In one litter there was a kitten that she rejected.  I kept putting the little kitten back in the basket with her until eventually she started feeding him.  We later found out the kitten had a tumor.  Well, when mom was putting the kittens up for adoption I couldn’t bear to let this one go.  Mom insisted I couldn’t keep him but I persisted until she finally gave in.  I took Smokey with me when I got married and loved him until he died.

Over the years my children had several pets as they were growing up and now in their adult lives share the love of pets that I have.  My son worked for the Humane Society for several years and adopted many dogs that otherwise would have been euthanized.  He and his family now have a mini farm with two very happy dogs, a cat and several chickens.

My daughter has been involved in Italian Greyhound rescue and has played a  big part in saving the lives of several sweet, sweet dogs that wouldn’t have made it without her help.  She and her husband now have two adorable, very spoiled dogs.

And I decided to take an early retirement and spend my time loving and caring for other peoples dogs, cats, birds, chickens and any other kinds of animals that they love and are in need of being cared for.  I consider all of the pets I care for my own and I’m so thankful that I get to share my love for them.  They definitely give it back 100%plus so yes; all of these pets’ love is definitely my holiday gift!

The gift that keeps on giving!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

San Icnacio and The End of Baja Mount Rainier

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



