Trip to Stockton, Ashland, OR

May 31, 2011 at 6:58 am Leave a comment

When I arrived in Ashland I checked into the Peerless Hotel, a historic boarding house in the Railroad District.  Originally this red brick boarding house let rooms to Southern Pacific Railroad workers in the early 1900’s.  There were fourteen rooms, each one ten foot square.  The one bathroom was shared by all 14 rooms.

Peerless Hotel

Lobby

Hallway

The restoration of this beautiful old building was completed in 1994 now with only seven rooms, each a different size and price and updated with modern facilities but still keeping with the authenticity of the period.  I stayed in Room #6.  It was furnished with an antique iron bed and oak armoire and the bathroom has a claw foot bathtub.  Besides the furnishings, a local artist hand painted different motifs on the walls and ceilings throughout the hotel.  My room had magnolia trees painted on the walls.  The bed linen is made in Italy.  When I checked in the manager took me up to my room and turned on classical music.  I felt like I’d stepped into the movie “Somewhere in Time”.

My room

The weather was gorgeous so I immediately took off my jeans and put on my capris and sandals and went out to explore the town.  Ashland is a very cute and green town complete with prayer flags, little picket fences, earthy people and the Zen apartments (complete with a Zen garden).  Most restaurants are vegetarian and/or have all organic ingredients and from what I could see, there are more ice cream shops than bars.  I ate dinner at the Standing Stone restaurant.  It’s a micro brewery with all organic food including homemade breads.  Even the catsup was home-made with all organic ingredients.  My dinner was absolutely delicious!

Ashland, Oregon

Next I went to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival to watch Julius Caesar, held in the New Theatre.  There are three stages and eleven plays throughout the season.  I would have loved to go to the Elizabethan Stage but it was too early in the season.  I have to say I was a bit disappointed in the play.  I expected it to be an original version with costumes and all.  Well, it wasn’t.  For one thing Julius was a woman, played as a woman Julius.  The play bridged between what happened to Caesar with other leaders in history when a small group of people form an attack on their ideas.  Anyway, I’m glad I went but it definitely wasn’t what I anticipated.

New Theatre

After a wonderful night’s sleep I went to The Peerless’ sun room for coffee

Peerless Hotel sun room

then to the breakfast room in their restaurant next door for my breakfast which was included with the price of the room.  I have to tell you this was no ordinary continental breakfast.  They offered wonderful organic coffee, orange juice, Oregon huckleberry bread, grapefruit brulee, orange and amaretto waffles with pure maple syrup, organic apple & pork sausages, and organic granola (made in Ashland) with yogurt and fresh sliced strawberries.  All I can say is WOW!  What a perfecting ending to my stay in Ashland!

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , .

Golden Retriever wins Valor Dog of the Year Trip to Stockton, Napa Valley

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



