Trip to Stockton, Napa Valley

June 3, 2011 at 6:25 am 1 comment

My next stop was Petaluma to visit my nephew Brad and his family.  Brad is a Les Schwab manager and a very busy man.  He was involved in all kinds of community activities while I was there.  He also coaches his son’s baseball team so I really didn’t get a lot of visiting in with him.  We got to have coffee and have little visits in the mornings.  I had to take a quick snap shot of us together even though he was on his way out the door to go to work and I was still in my PJ’s.

Brad & I

On Friday Brad’s wife Pam and I drove to Napa to take the luxurious Napa Valley Wine Train.  It ran from Napa to St. Helena past twenty-seven vineyards.  We wined and dined during the blissful three-hour, 36 mile round-trip gourmet journey in handsomely restored 1915-era Pullman coaches.  We had wine tasting just before boarding the train and opted to have cocktails instead of wine with our appetizers as we chugged along.

Cocktails before lunch!

We even got to stand on the back platform and enjoy the sunny beautiful day since we were in the very last car during part of our trip.

Pam on the back platform

Enjoying the Wine Train ride

The lunch we had was absolutely delicious.  We felt we were in a 5 star restaurant.  The attendants were there for our every need.  What a wonderfully enjoyable way to be pampered for an afternoon.

Delicious lunch!

That evening Pam took me out to dinner in downtown Petaluma to a great restaurant called Central Market.  We had goat cheese and sundried tomato pizzas and what else, more wineJ while we enjoyed more conversation!  Petaluma has a really fun downtown area with its little river and walk bridge, shops, eateries and sports bars.  I can see why Brad and Pam love living there!

Downtown Petaluma

Great dinner!

Alas, too soon I had to say my good-byes and head to the Monterey Peninsula.

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , .

Trip to Stockton, Ashland, OR Trip to Stockton, Monterey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  June 3, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    That sounds like the perfect trip. I know I would love that. Once I can drink wine again, I want to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



