Trip to Stockton, 17 Mile Drive

June 12, 2011 at 5:10 am Leave a comment

Before leaving this beautiful area I had to take the famous 17-Mile Drive along coast lines, golf courses, mansions & cypress forests.  Before the automobile had become a way of life, 17-Mile Drive was navigated by horse-drawn carriages.  That’s how long people have been enjoying this spectacular drive.  After paying a small toll I started out on this beautiful road connecting Monterey with Carmel.  This is the only private toll road west of the Mississippi.  My first stop was at Spanish Bay.  I was spellbound by its white sand beach.  I sat at one of the picnic tables for…I really don’t know how long.  It was hard for me to leave.  I just sat and watched the water, and birds, and people.

Spanish Bay

My next stop was a vist point called “The Restless Sea” because of the unique offshore turbulence generated by the submerged terrain off the point.

Restless Sea

Just down the road was “Bird Rock”, home to countless shorebirds and groups of harbor seals and sea lions.  It was the harbor seal pupping season so the closer point was closed for viewing to give them privacy.  Hundreds return every year to this area to have their young.

Bird Rock

This is just one of the many beautiful homes along the drive.

One of the many multimillion-dollar homes

 

One of California’s most enduring landmarks, the Lone Cypress has prevailed on its rocky perch for over 250 years!

 

Lone Cypress

 

And of course I had to stop at the ever famous lodge at Pebble Beach.  It happened to be Mothers day when I was there and they were having a special Mothers day brunch.  I contemplated treating myself until I found out the cost was $85!  I decided I wasn’t that hungry so I wandered through the shops and markets and went on my merry way.

Lodge at Pebble Beach

18th Fairway at Pebble Beach

By the way, I can’t take credit for these beautiful pictures.  Just as I was about to take my first picture on this drive my camera died so I had to pull these off the internet.  I swear, these pictures show just how beautiful it was on my trip.

Tomorrow I start work in Stockton for the next 5 weeks.

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , , , .

Trip to Stockton, Carmel Guest Post: Italian Greyhound Transport

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



