Colorado!

August 15, 2011 at 1:07 am Leave a comment

Colorado trip – Denver

This July I flew to Colorado to visit my friend Karen.  Karen and I met several years ago when we both decided to partake in a new venture and work in Alaska.  She was from Georgia and I from Washington state.  She and I became instant friends, along with several other women around our age who ended up working for Princess cruises that year.

We have kept in touch over the years and since she just recently moved to the Vail area and I had never even been to Colorado I couldn’t resist going to visit her.

Karen met me at the airport as Denver greeted me in a huge downpour.  We managed to make it to our motel, the drive taking three hours instead of the one it should have.  It didn’t matter; we had lots to catch up on.

Now that's what I call RAINING!

We went to the White Fence Farm for dinner. I had heard about this restaurant and told Karen we just HAD to go there.  She’s actually getting pretty used to me saying that because everywhere I go it seems I find places I just HAVE to go to.  She’s a good sport about it and just takes me.  We had a delicious fried chicken dinner (their specialty) and afterwards moved over to the “front porch” to listen to a blue grass jam session.  It was a fun evening.

White Fence Farm

Cluck cluck

Yum!

hee-haw!

The next day we went into downtown Denver to the 16th  Street mall.  We walked along the shops and restaurants then rode the bus to the beautiful old train station that was  being renovated.

16th Street Mall in Denver

Denver's Union Station

Karen in the old Union Station

Next stop was to the Buckhorn Exchange for lunch.  Another place I HAD to go to because it’s the  oldest restaurant in Denver.  Their specialty was their pot roast so Karen and I shared a sandwich.  It definitely didn’t disappoint us.  We sat in overstuffed chairs and “enjoyed”  looking at all the stuffed animals on the walls – yikes!  Upstairs was a great old bar and parlor.

Oldest restaurant in Denver

Is that deer looking at me???

Beautiful Parlor upstairs

Next post – Estes Park

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , .

My baby is having a baby! Colorado!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



