Willapalooza! Day 1

November 1, 2011 at 6:09 pm Leave a comment

This October I turned 60. This is quite a milestone in a person’s life and I had been feeling kind of funky about the thought of it.  As much as I don’t feel old (other than that darn arthritis that keeps reminding me of my age) I kept thinking that as much as I hate to admit it, my youth is gone.   But instead of dreading it, I decided to embrace it and just have fun.  So I planned a three-day birthday extravaganza with a theme of “recapturing your youth”!  My son-in-law Joe called it Willapalooza which I loved so we were off to a great start!

My sisters Kathy, Bonnie, Susie and Me

 

Beautiful quilt from LaWanda

 

Emily with my great-grandson Mason

The first day of Willapalooza started at my sister Kathys house with a good old-fashioned birthday party.  Lots of family and friends came, some I haven’t seen for quite some time.  My friend Karen from Colorado even came to join me in the celebration.  The funniest part of this picture is that Karen doesn’t even drink, he he!

Karen with my daughter in law Wendy

LaWanda, Me & Barb

My grandson Christian

The weather was beautiful, the conversation was great and the food and drinks kept coming!

Enjoying the beautiful weather

Catching up with old friends

My daughter Heather & son Ben

We got lots of good pictures of lots of good friends, and even took advantage of most of the family being here and got a family photo.

Barb with niece Christi

 

Brent, Pete & Brian

Family photo

As soon as the party ended a few of us girls headed up to a friend’s place for a bonfire party!  I haven’t been to one of these for a long time!  The fire was huge.  There was no fear of getting cold here J.  The evening ended with fireworks.  How cool is that?

Huge bonfire!

Hanging out by the fire

Reminder - don't drink and drive when you go to the bonfire!

Big crowd

Fireworks!

Next, Willapalooza day 2!

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

If Dogs Could Talk 60th Birthday – Willapalooza Day 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



