Easter 2012

April 11, 2012 at 3:28 pm Leave a comment

My sister Kathy hosted Easter this year as she has for several years now.

Kathy with Joni

Kathy lives in our family home where we grew up so we now have the fifth generation enjoying this holiday in the same home, in the same yard.  That’s very special to me.  I remember as a child my sisters and I running out to the back yard to find our Easter baskets, and after my sister and I were married and had children we still celebrated Easter at “Grandmas” house.  All the kids have great memories of those days.

Of course the day before the Easter eggs needed to be colored.  Heather and LJ volunteered, and I have to say they did an excellent job!

LJ and Heather coloring Easter eggs

I hosted Easter at my house for several years when mom got older but after my mom passed and Kathy moved back into the family home, she is back to hosting it.  This year our entire family was able to come.

The two youngest members of the family are my Grandson LJ and my cousin Bruce’s grandson Oliver.  Perhaps a little too young to remember the fun but they still got baskets of goodies.

Heather with LJ and Christina with Oliver

It is sooo much fun watching the excitement on the kids faces when they go out to hunt for Easter eggs.

My great-grandson Mason with Bruce's granddaughter Ava

LJ checking out his Easter basket

Austin & Colten hunting for their special "Golden" eggs

Another tradition my mom started when we became adults was to have a special hunt for the grown-ups.  She never wanted to leave anyone out of the fun, and neither did my sister.

Cousin Bruce, daughter-in-law Wendy and daughter Heather getting clues for the adult hunt

Daughter Heather with my two grandsons LJ and Christian

The pups had a great time running and playing in the yard too!

Jackson, Ava & Bogey

It was a wonderful day and I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the coming of spring than to share  it with the people you love.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

City of Roses In Memory of Sadie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



