Wenatchee Apple Blossom Festival

April 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm Leave a comment

The Apple Blossom Festival has been a tradition since 1920 and was originated to celebrate the importance of the apple industry in Wenatchee, Washington the Apple Capital of the World.  It was voted as one of the top 10 Best Spring Festivals for Families in 2011.  I grew up in Wenatchee and for many, many years attended the annual Apple Blossom Festival and have many great memories.  When I was in grade school through Junior High I was in school band and marched in the parade.  In the early 60’s I saw my first hippies during Apple Blossom.  Quite a sight for someone from this little town.  The best part of the festival for me as a child was the carnival!  After the parade dad would take my sisters and I down to ride the rides, oh how exciting!!!

Cruising was a big part of Apple Blossom.  During Friday and Saturday nights everyone hopped in their cars and “cruised the ave”.  That tradition held over until after I was married with children.  We packed up the kids and headed to the avenue.  It was so much fun.  EVERYONE you knew was there.  We all ended up at Dustys and the Arctic Circle, our local drive-ins.  Of course in the 90’s too much alcohol was involved and the police outlawed cruising so my kids weren’t able to continue the tradition.  So sad.  It started out as such good clean fun.  These days there is the Classy Chassis parade so everyone can still polish up their old cars and drive them down the street.

Although it’s an absolutely beautiful time of the year in Wenatchee, I haven’t been to an Apple Blossom Festival for many, many years now.  Even when I was still living in Wenatchee I tended to stay away from the festivities.  After all,  you can only see SO many parades, go to SO many carnivals, eat SO many corn dogs at the food fair, and look through SO many booths at the art fair as well as all the other activities during that time.

This year I literally had about two hours in Wenatchee during the festival before heading down to Portland to pet sit.  My daughter Heather and her husband surprised me and said they wanted to come for the festival with their baby boy.  So we all headed to the Kids Parade.  LJ absolutely LOVED listening to the bands and watching all the people.  Even though they don’t live in Wenatchee, Heather has fond memories of all of the years she enjoyed Apple Blossom and wants her little boy to have the same experience.  So this was the first of many years he’ll be coming and enjoying the fun that his mom and grandma had over the years.

My grandson Christian and Granddaughters husband Nathen drove the Fred Meyer float.   It sure looked like Christian was having a good time!

Mason my great-grandson was riding in the back.  He’s the cute little smiley boy in the middle!

I’ve decided it’s time to start attending the festival again.  At least part of it.  They say when you get older you start to enjoy the simple things in life again.  That’s my goal.  So I’m planning on being in Wenatchee to watch my youngest grandson and great-grandson enjoy their years of Apple Blossom, and who knows, you just might see me riding those carnival rides again!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Beautiful morning at Lake Chelan Traveling to Lodi, CA

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



