Traveling to Lodi, CA

May 8, 2012 at 6:02 pm 1 comment

I’m going to be writing schedules for Stemilt’s cherry packing facility in Stockton again this year.  I made the drive down the last couple of days.  The first day I drove to Medford and spent the night.  Yesterday I headed out and after driving over the beautiful Siskiyou Mountains I dropped down into the Shasta Valley and stopped in Yreka for breakfast.  Was that ever a good idea!

The first restaurant you see off the freeway is Grandmas House Restaurant.  It was just so cute I decided I should eat there.

The first thing I noticed when I entered was all the “Grandma-y” things.  The waitresses were wearing flowery, ruffled aprons just like my grandma used to.  The floral carpet and all the decor made me feel like I was visiting my own grandma.   And the best part was the food.  Not only was the service friendly and fast but the biscuits that came with the breakfast were to die for!  No pre-made stuff here.  Oh my gosh they were good!  I told the waitress how great the restaurant was and she told me that “Grandma really had started this restaurant in 1977 and in fact Grandmas daughter and her husband were over at that booth eating right now and the restaurant was still owned and operated by the family”.

As I pulled out of Yreka and out of the valley the magnificent Mt. Shasta came into view.  I’ve seen Mt. Shasta many times but it’s beauty never disappoints me.  What a beautiful view!

Next I pulled into Redding to see the Sundial Bridge.  It’s a walk bridge that goes over the Sacramento River.  The deck is made up of glass panels and on the other side are pretty paths that were being used by lots of walkers, joggers, dog walkers, and tourists just stopping to take a look.

It was the perfect place to take a break from driving.  When I saw this sign though, I decided it was time to get back into my car and head out again 🙂

A few more hours and I pulled into Lodi where I’ll be staying during my stay here.

I’m really excited to see everyone from last year and to start my work here again this year.  I have to say though that it’s going to be a bit of an adjustment.  When I arrived it was 95 degrees.  Yep, I’m definitely back in the Stockton area!

 

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

Wenatchee Apple Blossom Festival Reward offered after dog hurt by explosive

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  May 9, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Love your travel story! Thanks for sharing. We hope you stop and stay and Redding when you have a little more time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



