Pet Sitting in the Phinney Ridge area of Seattle

September 25, 2012 at 1:05 am Leave a comment

After leaving Wenatchee and the horrible smoke from all the surrounding forest fires I was so thankful to arrive in Seattle to settle in for the next couple of weeks to pet sit.  This is the first time sitting for these two delightful pups.  Charlie is a mellow cocker spaniel with a sweet, laid back personality who tolerates Clarence, a rambunctious 6 month old Yorkie.

Charlie is patiently waiting for me to throw the ball

Clarence says “Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go!”

It’s such a hoot watching that little character running circles around me and Charlie, chasing after the ball and getting into all kinds of mischief!

I met Heather and LJ for dinner one night.  LJ had a terrible cold, you can see it in his eyes, but he’s a real trooper and we had a nice visit.  I take advantage every chance I get to see my little fella.

LJ likes playing with his spinach more than he likes eating it!

I’m so happy to see my little boy!

On Friday I went to the Phinney Farmers Market.  It is quite small but they had a good variety of stuff including a huge selection of organic meats, lots of fruits & vegetables and even music.  I loved the bread display at one booth!

Bread at the Farmers Market

Nice display of vegetables

And since I was in the neighborhood I had to finally try a burger at the famous Red Mill Burgers on N. 67th St.  I’ve been in the area several times and have driven by but never stopped.  There always seemed to be a line out the door and this time was no exception.

Red Mill Burgers on N. 67th St

This is quite a hustling, bustling place!  There was standing room only and shoulder to shoulder people ordering their food and picking up their orders at the counter.  I have to say for as busy as they were, and as small a grill they have, and only one cashier they are really fast and efficient! The orders are taken at one end of the tiny counter where the cash register is and they are picked up on a pile of trays at the other end.

An order ready to be picked up

Red Mill Burgers was voted as “One of the 20 hamburgers you must eat before you die” from the Oprah show and voted “The best burgers in Seattle” by the Seattle Weekly for 10 years in a row.  Not only are they famous for their fire roasted Anaheim peppers on their burgers but also their huge stack of bacon.

Mile high pile of bacon on the grill

I opted to get neither.  I got a Garden burger deluxe.  It came with lettuce, tomato, pickle, red onion and basil mayonnaise.  I have to say it was a REALLY good burger!  Next time I think I’ll try one with the pepper!

Entry filed under: Dogs, Travel. Tags: , , , , , .

Friday tip of the day – Important Things You Should Know Before Bringing a Cat Home National Dog Week: Why?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



