Three Weeks in Wenatchee – Visitors from Holland, Birthdays and Pet Sitting

November 5, 2012 at 6:51 am Leave a comment

I had a long overdue extended stay in Wenatchee lately.  The first week we were visited by my cousin Margriet and her husband Han from The Netherlands.  It’s been six long years since I’ve seen my cousin.  In 2006 I met her in Venice and we took a cruise through the Greek Islands.  A trip that neither one of us will ever forget, it was fabulous!  And it’s been even longer since she’s come to Washington for a visit – about 10 years.  As time goes by faster and faster as we are getting older we both realize the visits MUST come more frequently from now on.

On Thursday, the first night they arrived, we went to the Country Club for dinner.  Seated from left to right are – My sister Bonnie’s husband Gary, Margriet’s husband Han, Bonnie, niece Christi & Brent, sister Kathy, Dutch cousin Margriet and me.

Out to dinner with the family

On Friday, after spending the day visiting, we went to my other cousin Bruce and his wife Graces for dinner and more conversation.  The food was fantastic and the organic cherry wine (made by them) was as usual THE BEST!

Enjoying a wonderful evening at the Spencers

Saturday morning we went to Farmers Market to visit Bruce & Graces booth.  Bruce’s son and family met up with us there.  It was a fun reunion for everyone!

Margriet & Han with cousin Bruce

Margriet & Han with the Spencer family

Later that day Kathy hosted a huge dinner so the entire family could come and visit Margriet & Han.  My son and his family as well as my daughter from Lynnwood and her family were able to come, along with all the other relatives and friends.  It was a busy, busy day!

Preparing the meal

Lots of kids, too!

So good to be together again!

Showing Ava a game from Holland

It was so nice to see Margriet & Han again!  By Monday they were heading over the pass towards Seattle to fly out on Tuesday.  The time went way too fast.  Until next time Margriet & Han!  We love you so much!

The following week was my sister Kathy and my birthdays.  Our birthdays are only two days apart and we are two years apart.  My sister Bonnie is the middle child so needless to say we were like triplets growing up and we are still very close.  There’s just nothing like sisters!

To celebrate Kathy and my birthdays we went to the Sleeping Lady in Leavenworth.  My grandson Christian Baker just graduated from high school this last spring and is on his way to being a chef.  He is so lucky to be able to work under the very impressive Executive Chef Kenneth MacDonald.   After driving through the property and seeing deer meandering around, we arrived at the Kingfisher Restaurant.  I have to say I have never had such a unique and delicious meal in a long, long time.  Everything was prepared with local or organic ingredients, and the salad bar was to die for!  It was worth going just for that alone.

Enjoying an evening at the Sleeping Lady with my grandson Christian Baker

The last part of my time in Wenatchee was pet sitting three dogs.  One very comical and energetic Yellow Lab Bella, one soft and cuddly Cocker Spaniel Bentley, and one very old and precious Beagle named Daisy.  Just behind the house are miles and miles of foothills to run around and explore.  Bella tells me in no uncertain terms when it’s time to go.  So off we go every day, Bella and Bentley running all over as I try to keep up with them.  Great exercise for all of us.

It’s hunting season so the pups wear their orange vests

Beautiful view of Wenatchee Valley

Daisy has run the hills for enough years.  She now prefers to stay home and take a nap.

My sweet little Daisy

I’m now in Bellevue pet sitting a couple of other dogs.  It’s always hard to leave the pups I’m staying with but I also look forward to the ones I’m going to.  And I know that I’ll be back another day to walk the hills with Bella and Bentley and give lots of love and massages to Daisy!

Entry filed under: Dogs. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Friday tip of the day – Dog + Baby = Health American Humane Association Hero Dog Awards tonight!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



