Christmas time in Seattle – first outing

December 25, 2012 at 10:36 am Leave a comment

This year I decided to pet sit during Christmas.  My kids and I had an early Christmas so I set out to enjoy my charges as well as take advantage of being in Seattle during Christmastime.  I’m watching over a special little dog named Harpo and a beautiful cat named Kevin.

Harpo and I always have a great time together.  He absolutely LOVES his walks, snuggling under a blanket with me on the couch, and cocking his head trying to understand what I’m saying.

Harpo - "Whaaat?"

Harpo – “Whaaat?”

Kevin has been hanging out more with me this time since it’s been colder and wetter outside and he’s spending more time indoors.  He loves to stretch out for a belly rub, curling up and purring while I’m petting him, and he even likes to help me with my paperwork :-).

Kevin - "I'll help!"

Kevin – “I’ll help!”

First thing on my list of things to do in Seattle during Christmastime was to go to Pike Place Market to see the Christmas lights.  So one evening I headed out to see them.  Of course everyone knows what a foodie I am so I first had to try out a new place to eat.  I decided on Pike Place Chowder in Post Alley.

Pike Place Chowder

Pike Place Chowder

I was not disappointed.  I had their specialty, clam chowder in a bread bowl.  It was delicious!  In fact it could just be the best chowder I’ve ever had.  It had big chunks of potato, onion, bacon and lots of clams in a thick creamy sauce.

DSC08048

After enjoying this wonderful meal, I headed across the street to the market.  I never tire of the hustle and bustle of all the vendors and visitors, and the beautiful displays of flowers, seafood, fruits and vegetables.  And I love the street entertainers.  There was one guy playing absolutely beautiful music on a piano.  I passed him by and had to come back just to take in a few more moments of that beautiful sound.  Such talent!  It was just getting dark and the lights were shining!  There were small Christmas trees on the roofs lining the street, and even the pigs were lit up.  It was really beautiful!

DSC08062

Since I was so close I decided I would head down to Pier 57 to ride the Seattle Great Wheel.  Looking out at the water during the dark nighttime was a little eerie but what a beautiful view of the city!

The Great Wheel

The Great Wheel

Next post I’ll have more Christmastime in Seattle adventures.

Merry Christmas!!

Entry filed under: Cats, Dogs. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Early Christmas with my kids Christmastime in Seattle – second outing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



