Christmastime in Seattle – Dim Sum and a movie

December 27, 2012 at 10:48 am Leave a comment

Fa ra ra ra ra!  Remember the move ‘A Christmas Story’ when the family went to the Chinese restaurant?  Well, since I wasn’t going to be with my family this year for Christmas I decided to do the same thing.  So I headed down to Chinatown to have Dim Sum for brunch.

DSC08157

Dim sum is a style of Chinese food prepared in individual portions and served in small steamer baskets or on small plates. The ready-to-serve dim sum dishes are carted around the restaurant for customers to choose their orders while seated at their tables.  I’ve never had this style of Chinese food before so now was the time.

DSC08154

It was so much fun trying all the different kinds of food.  I had Siu Mai dumplings (sausage and shrimp stuffed in a light, thin dough), egg rolls, lotus leaf rice (a sausage stuffed sticky rice wrapped in lotus leaf), shrimp rice noodle, Char siu baau (a delicious fluffy bun stuffed with BBQ pork), as well as a few others that I’m not really sure what they were.  While I didn’t have Christmas duck, I just HAD to try the Phoenix claws (deep fried chicken feet marinated in a black bean sauce).

DSC08150

It was a great experience!  The hostess helped me out on choosing the dishes and it was fun trying something so different during Christmas.

DSC08155

After stopping back to the house and taking Harpo on a walk, I headed to the movies to see The Guilt Trip.

guilt trip 1

What a good movie!  Barbara Streisand portrayed a mother who was still mothering her adult child…sounds familiar but I could still laugh about it!  After many ups and downs along their road trip they learned some things about each other as well as themselves.  This movie really hit home for me.  Time to let go of some things I’ve been holding on to for WAY too many years.

So now that Christmas is over, and while I thoroughly love being with my family during the holidays, I can say that I really enjoyed doing something entirely different this Christmas!  What’s life about if not to experience as many new things as possible, right?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Christmastime in Seattle – second outing Friday tip of the day – Stopping a dog from guarding food

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



