Happy New Year!

January 1, 2013 at 10:17 pm Leave a comment

Jan 1

Happy New Year everyone!  This is my fourth year in Portland spending the holiday with Luna and Reilly, my two special Italian Greyhounds.

Reilly & Luna

Reilly & Luna

It’s always such a joy staying with these two adorable little ones!  Their mom and dad got them an interactive game called dog it Mind Games.  What a great idea!  I didn’t even know there were games like this for pups.  They had such fun playing it!

Reilly & Luna looking for the treat under the cups

Reilly & Luna looking for the treat under the cups

Luna was the champion!  She found every treat!

Luna was the champion! She found every treat!

This year I decided to take a few hours and go out for a while on New Years Eve.  I planned to go out to dinner and then go to a “Who’s Line is it anyway” type of show at Comedy Sportz.  I had planned on going to 21st Street Bar & Grill.  I had googled places close to Comedy Sportz and this place looked really good.  BUT, I walked in and didn’t like it immediately.  For one thing it was practically empty except for a few people around the bar having drinks.  No waitress in sight.  I just didn’t get a warm and fuzzy feeling.  So I turned around and walked up the street a bit.  I’m soooo glad I did!  I looked across the street and saw a nice looking place with lots of people inside.  It just looked inviting.  I didn’t even know how good the food was going to be.

Dicks Kitchen

Dicks Kitchen

I was so pleased to find Dick’s Kitchen to have such a friendly staff, casual and comfortable atmosphere, and such a great selection of organic, grass-fed beef burgers as well as organic turkey, buffalo and veggie burgers on the menu.  They also had burgers on salads that looked to die for!  The gluten-free desserts looked wonderful too.  They have a great selection of sides like “non fries” –  baked fries just like I make at home, cooked greens, mashed sweet potatoes, etc.   I had a burger and their yam “non fries”..  Delicious and no deep-frying!

Dicks Kithen

Dicks Kitchen

Dicks also has a full bar with lots of specialty drinks.  I had to have a bloody mary…my favorite drink to celebrate the coming of a new year.

Then I walked down to Kearney Street to Comedy Sportz.

DSC08190

When I first arrived, I honestly thought it was going to be a bust.  The place is pretty sparse.  You walk in from the outside directly into the room where the show is held.  To the left is a counter where a lady was selling drinks as well as checking tickets, and telling another lady what my name was so she could take me to my seat.  It was a bit of a hub-bub with people coming in, not quite sure what to do or where to go.  The audio and video people were also behind and in front of the counter a little further down.  To the right was the seating.  All stacking chairs.

Seating at Comedy Sportz

Seating at Comedy Sportz

Since I went to an early show, there were lots of kids there.  I actually chose this venue because it was kid friendly.  There are two teams with a referee.  The referee as well as the audio guy along with the audience get to vote on which team does the best job.  It’s very interactive with the audience.  The referee calls out  what subject they should use and the teams start with their improv.  You can buy red and blue fly swatters.  Then when you’re asked which team did the best job, you raise either the blue or red depending on the team you liked the best.

Comedy Sportz players

Comedy Sportz players

There will be no profanity or off-color insinuations of any kind!  If there is, whether you are one of the cast or one of the audience, you will wear a sack over your head 🙂

Oh oh!  You can't say that!

Oh oh! You can’t say that!

To my surprise I had a really fun time and ended up smiling and laughing almost the entire time I was there.  It ended up being just the perfect thing for me to do to end 2012.  After a year with so many ups and downs in our country, the best thing I could have done to say good-bye to 2012 and hello to 2013 is by having a good laugh!  Thanks Comedy Sportz for giving me that!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Friday tip of the day – Stopping a dog from guarding food Friday tip of the day – Walk your dog

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



