Pet sitting and the loss of a sweet old Lab

January 19, 2013 at 10:21 am 1 comment

For the last week and a half I’ve been pet sitting, first in Seattle, then in Wenatchee.  In Seattle I watched Clarence & Charlie, a couple of sweet pups that keep me on my toes and make me laugh every day (Man I LOVE my job!!!).  Clarence is wearing a cone because he has just been neutered.  But it didn’t slow him down one bit!

Clarence & Charlie

Clarence & Charlie

Then this week I came back in Wenatchee to watch two rambunctious, spirited, and absolutely amazing Chessies, Maggie Mae and Uncle Gus, along with sweet little Alex the cat.

Maggie & Gus

Maggie & Gus

The last time I watched Alex she was very sick.  Her blood pressure had shot up and damaged some of her eye sight.  She was in pretty bad shape.  But boy did she bounce back!  She has regained some of her eye sight and has a good feel for her surroundings and, I’m happy to say, gets around great again and is back to her old sweet self :-).

Little Miss Alex

Little Miss Alex

With a heavy heart I am sorry to say that lovable old Brook, a 16 year old Chocolate Lab has passed since I’ve last been here.  She had been failing for quite some time.  She was blind in one eye and had lost her hearing. The last time I watched her in September I knew that her time here would soon be over.  She was having trouble getting to her feet, but her spirit was still strong and she still got excited to play a bit in the yard and get her rubs and treats.   My eyes are filled with tears just thinking of her now.  Good-by my sweet Brook.  I will miss you for a long, long time, but I am so glad I got to be a part of your life.

DSC07189

Entry filed under: Cats, Dogs. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Using the Correct Collar for your Dog When accidents happen

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. getwaggit  |  January 20, 2013 at 11:47 am

    At least Brooke lived a long and fruitful life, RIP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



