On Bended Knee

June 14, 2013 at 10:19 am 2 comments

My son is such a thoughtful, caring human being who has rescued many dogs in the past and given them a home full of love and compassion.  I’d like to share a poem he wrote several years ago when he was still a teenager.  I think it’s just beautiful.

Ben and Angus

Angus with Ben

On Bended Knee

To the human, with the life that I spent
how I grew to adore your scents.

You’d let me run so I could feel free
and gained my trust on your bended knee.

Sometimes I’d forget from time to time,
could see the frustration within your eye.

Needing forgiveness, my neck I’d bare
and every time, my life you’d spare.

And even more you’d come back to me
showing forgiveness on bended knee.

And in reflection looking back,
I just want to thank you for that.

Sometimes learning as you go
that I would never put on a show.

For what I feel is what I am,
I had no need for fame or glam.

And in the times I saw pain in your eyes
I’d give you your space to talk to the skies.

Until the time you came back to me
again we had laughter, on bended knee.

I finally learned the job in my pack
to be gentle with young, I got the knack.

With the old I’d lay, and the young I’d play,
but time caught up, began to fill with pain.

I have grown old and I can’t understand
that I can’t walk, and you’re still a young man.

And in my last carry through the door
you gently set me on the floor.

With tears in your eyes, and the sound of good-bye
you comfort me, on bended knee.

The gift you seemed to understand
I thank you for being a compassionate man.

By Ben Baker

Entry filed under: Dogs, Guest Posts. Tags: , , .

Chill out! 10 Things not to feed your dog

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffee break arcade tetris  |  August 1, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go
    through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read more, Please
    do keep up the excellent jo.

    Reply
    • 2. roadrunner33  |  August 1, 2013 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks so much for reading my blogs. I’m so glad you enjoy them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



