Walking Oscar on Beautiful Queen Anne

October 30, 2013 at 8:51 pm Leave a comment

If you’ve been reading my blogs you will know how important I believe it is to walk your dogs.  I’ve been staying in the lower Queen Anne neighborhood with Oscar for the last couple of weeks and taking him for walks every day.

Every other day I take Oscar to Magnuson Dog Park so he can have the freedom to run and play with other dogs.  He absolutely LOVES it!  And so do I.  It gives me so much pleasure to watch him socialize and run and play in the water.

Playing in the water

Playing in the water

Social time

Social time

Having fun at Magnuson Dog Park

Having fun at Magnuson Dog Park

But on the days I don’t go to Magnuson, we walk up and down the hills of beautiful Queen Anne.  There are SO many things to see on our walk including many historic homes.  Here are just a few that we pass by along the way.

W M Chappell House

W M Chappell House

The Chappell House is a French Gothic style home built in 1906.  Chappell was one of the first men at the gold strike in Eldorado Creek in Alaska.  He came back, founded Rainier Heat & Power Co. and built this beautiful home.  The home is currently home of the Japanese Consul.

James A Gibbs House

James A Gibbs House

This massive home was built in 1931.  To the left is a separate bungalow with a garage underneath and formal gardens.  To the right is a view of Seattle and below is a second large underneath garage.  The picture doesn’t do it justice.

Treat House

Treat House

Close up of stained glass windows of Treat House

Close up of stained glass windows of Treat House

The Treat House is a Gable House built in 1905.  Originally the lowest floor had a ballroom, mens gambling room and stage.  It was the largest home on the hill at the time.  For many years it was used as apartments but now has been purchased and restored to its former splendor.  The stained glass windows is what sets this home apart.  Beautiful!

Martin D Ballard House

Martin D Ballard House

This gorgeous Georgian Revival style home was built in 1901.  It now houses six luxury apartments averaging 1200 sq. ft. each.

There are several beautiful historic apartments along our walk too.  Here are just a couple of them.

Narada Apartments

Narada Apartments

The Narada Apartments were built in 1926.  The buildings unique features are its extensive and ornate use of terra-cotta.  The projecting window bays are clad entirely of it.  It’s striking!

The Victorian Apartments

The Victorian Apartments

The Tudor Revival style apartments are built of red brick and terra-cotta.  It occupies an entire block.  The U-shaped building surrounds a vast terraced lawn which allows residents to not only have views of the city and Elliott Bay but to have a garden view from virtually every window.

Not only do we pass by beautiful homes and buildings, but there are several stairways tucked throughout the area.

One of the many stairways throughout the Queen Anne neighborhood

One of the many stairways throughout the Queen Anne neighborhood

And of course since Autumn is my favorite time of year, I have to include the wonderful colors I see along the way.

Colors of fall

Colors of fall

I can hear the rustling of the fallen leaves

I can hear the rustling of the fallen leaves

The ivy turning red

The ivy turning red

More trees bursting with color

More trees bursting with color

During the first week I was here I passed an older Korean lady standing underneath a huge tree.  It was littered with spiny pods underneath.  She told me she was gathering chestnuts.  She said Koreans LOVE chestnuts and they’re very expensive so she comes every year to gather them.  I got my first lesson on the difference between horse chestnuts and edible sweet chestnuts, otherwise known as the American, European, or Asian chestnut.  I had no idea that all the horse chestnuts I had been seeing were not edible, in fact could actually be poisonous.

Non edible horse chestnuts on left, edible sweet chestnuts on right

Non edible horse chestnuts on left, edible sweet chestnuts on right

The walks up and down the hills of Queen Anne have really taken a toll on my ankles.  They are aching and swollen.  I’m not used to walking such steep hills.  But it’s been worth every ache and pain!

On my next post I’ll share the views from the condo that I’m staying in with Oscar.  Every day I look out onto Elliott Bay and the city it looks different.  Ahh, what a wonderful life I have!

Entry filed under: Dogs. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

The new arrival Pet Sitting Oscar

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



