Visiting Local Restaurants

December 5, 2013 at 7:20 pm Leave a comment

Every year when Christmas gets close I’m reminded to buy local.  Somehow that slips my mind as the year goes by and I gravitate back to eating in chain restaurants.

Brody & Calla

Brody & Calla

When I needed to go into Monroe to do some errands while pet sitting Brody and Calla in Maltby – get groceries, gas, etc., I decided to drive into the old section of town and stop at a restaurant for lunch.  Boy was I in for a treat!  The first thing I noticed was the wonderful inviting exterior.  How often do you see locals hanging out on benches along Main Street any more?

Hitching Post exterior

Hitching Post exterior

I have to say as you walk in the door the first thing that comes to mind is….busy!  It’s a small café and the place was packed.  There are murals of days gone by on all the walls, booths, everywhere you look.  After the initial shock, I have to say it was pretty fun to look them all over while waiting for my food to come.

Hitching Post murals

Hitching Post murals

Not only is the Hitching Post a fun place to go just for the atmosphere, the food was DELICIOUS!  I forgot how home cooked food tastes in a restaurant.  I had the parmesan chicken tenders (melt in your mouth chicken) that came with a nice big fresh salad and French fries.  I had to take half of the meal home with me for dinner, and I’m not a small eater!  They have all the old favorites on their menu – burgers & sandwiches such as tuna melts, Rueben’s, clubs, the list goes on.  And remember these are all home made, not taken out of a freezer and popped into a microwave like many restaurants serve now.  And you can definitely taste the difference.  They have vegetarian options and a great kids menu too!

Shared my booth with Jimmy Stewart

Shared my booth with Jimmy Stewart

And to top it all off, I got to share my booth with Jimmy Stewart :-).  Fun!!!  So if you’re ever driving through Monroe and are hungry for a great breakfast or lunch, stop by the Hitching Post Café at 107 W. Main St in Monroe, WA.  You won’t be disappointed!

The other place I went out to lunch during my stay in Maltby was Mongos Clearview at 16510 State Rt. 9 SE in Snohomish, WA.

Mongos exterior

Mongos exterior

This was another pleasant surprise!  You would never expect a little hole in the wall restaurant like this, located in a strip mall between a gas station and an Ace Hardware store, with The Joint (a medical marijuana dispensary) just two doors away, would have such a menu!  Score!!!

Mongos interior

Mongos interior

The owner and head chef  Christopher Cunio (all decked out in his chef’s jacket) greeted my daughter and I at the counter.  He was SO friendly and personable!  I already loved this place!

There are lots of gourmet items on the menu such as filet mignon sliders, New York strip steak sandwich, several signature tacos like blackened salmon and grilled chicken breast, Mongo noodles, beautiful salads…and all served in a to-go container.  What???  Yep, no pretense here, just wonderful food!

I had the Kataifi Prawns, jumbo prawns wrapped in phyllo dough over noodles served with coleslaw and garlic chili dipping sauce.  Wow!  Spicy and delicious!  My daughter chose the balsamic grilled portabella mushrooms over noodles served with balsamic tomato, basil & garlic tapenade.  Equally delicious!

Kataifi Prawns

Kataifi Prawns

I would suggest the next time you’re in the mood for a meal out, check out one of your local restaurants.  I will bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

 

Entry filed under: Dogs, Travel. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Deadly new virus attacking dogs: What you need to know Top 5 Pet-Related Resolutions for 2014

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



