Home for Christmas

January 7, 2014 at 7:31 pm Leave a comment

This year I went home for Christmas.  By home I mean Wenatchee, Washington where I was born and raised, raised my children, worked most of my life, and where most of my friends and family live.  I rented out my home several years ago, so now when I come home I stay with my sister Kathy.  She is my best friend in the whole wide world.  She’s crazy, funny, and has a heart the size of Texas!

My crazy, wonderful sister Kathy and me

My crazy, wonderful sister Kathy and me

I arrived in Wenatchee a week before Christmas and immediately started the holiday festivities by meeting with my former co-workers from Stemilt Growers for drinks and a chance to catch up at one of our favorite local restaurant & bar’s, Bob’s Classic.

Christmas 004

The next afternoon my sisters and I met a couple of our other friends for lunch.  I try to make a point of seeing as many of my friends as I can when I’m in town because I miss them and their friendship means so much to me.  We always have a great time talking and laughing with these crazy women!

DSC01189

Having lunch with my sisters Kathy & Bonnie and our good friends Pat and Barb

On Saturday the girls and I went to a local theater to watch a play.  It was fun to do something different.  I love the theater and don’t seem to go very often.  A big “Thank you” to my gal pals for agreeing to go with me!

Christmas 001

And later that day my daughter and her family arrived from Lynnwood to spend Christmas with us.  It’s their baby boys first Christmas and their toddlers first Christmas that he kind of understands the concept of Santa.  What a fun age!

DSC01224

My niece Christi is getting married next summer so on Sunday she had planned a “Try on your wedding/bridesmaid dress” party.  One of her friends’ mother owns a bridal shop in town and was so generous to allow us to the private party at her shop Bella Sera.

Christmas 003

The girls had so much fun trying on several beautiful and fun dresses.  And what girl doesn’t love to try on a wedding gown?  It was like a kids dress up party for 30 to 40 year olds!  Then we all got a peek at Christi’s wedding gown.  Beautiful!  We Grandmas sat and enjoyed mimosas and hors d’oeuvres while watching the girls have their fun!

Watching the style show

Watching the style show

A toast to the bride-to-be

A toast to the bride-to-be

Christi's beautiful wedding gown

One of the beautiful wedding gowns Christi tried on

On Monday it was time for my grandson LJ to make cookies to leave for Santa on Christmas eve.  Oh my!  Did he ever have a super fun time!  He’s quite the chef and LOVES to help Grandma in the kitchen.  He always says “I’m the best helper ever!”.  Yes LJ, you certainly are!

LJ rolling out the cookie dough

LJ rolling out the cookie dough

All cut out and ready for the oven

All cut out and ready for the oven

Are they ready yet?

Are they ready yet?

Decorating them 'just right'!

Decorating them ‘just right’!

The cookies & milk for Santa, and of course carrots for the reindeer

The cookies & milk for Santa, and of course carrots for the reindeer that LJ left out on Christmas eve.

On Christmas Eve my niece Christi and her fiancé Brent hosted a party.  We gathered for snacks, conversation & a fun gift exchange.

Our host Christi in the middle

Our host Christi is the one in grey in the middle with my sister (Christi’s mom) on the right

The guys waiting for the gift exchange to begin

The guys waiting for the gift exchange to begin

Friends enjoying the evening

Friends enjoying the evening

Fun times!  Fun gifts!

Fun times! Fun gifts!

My great-grandson & grandson showing me their gifts

My great-grandson & grandson showing me their gifts

Christmas morning finally arrived and LJ saw what Santa brought him.  LOTS of cars from his favorite movie!

Oh my!  Look what Santa brought LJ!

Oh my! Look what Santa brought LJ!

Daddy, LJ & Jackson opening gifts

Daddy, LJ & Jackson opening gifts

Ava watching the action all snuggled up and cozy

Ava watching the action all snuggled up and cozy

Mommy and Declan enjoying the morning

My gorgeous daughter Heather and baby Declan enjoying the morning

And me in my PJ's

And me in my PJ’s watching the fun

Next we were off to my sons home for a delicious breakfast and another gift exchange.  As soon as we got out of the car we were met by my grandson Christian and my great-grandson Mason horsing around.

Hurry Mason, that crazy Santa is going to get you!

Hurry Mason, that crazy Santa is going to get you!

My son Ben, daughter Heather, and the babies

My son Ben, daughter Heather, and the babies

My beautiful daughter-in-law Wendy with her adorable grandson Braxton

My beautiful daughter-in-law Wendy with her adorable grandson Braxton

Someone once said “It’s all about the babies, isn’t it?”  Well yes, it’s all about the babies <3!

Are they adorable or what?

Are they adorable or what?

Christian is off to work before I got a chance to take the family photo.

Christian is off to work before I got a chance to take the family photo.  Love that boy!

Our family photo.  Me with my children, spouses, grandchildren and great grandchildren.  A room full of love!

Our family photo. Me with my children & their spouses, my grandchildren and great grandchildren. A room full of love!

The last of our Christmas activities was to go to my cousin Bruce’s house for Christmas dinner.

Bruce's son Dustin with his lovely wife Christina and their children Ava & Oliver

Bruce’s son Dustin with his lovely wife Christina and their children Ava & Oliver

Bruce giving the blessing before dinner

Bruce giving the blessing before dinner

I have so much to be thankful for this Christmas.  Bruce was severely burned during the summer and has recovered extremely well.  He still has a lot of mending to do, but with his positive attitude and help from his loving wife, friends and family I know he will heal completely.  I love my cousin so much and am so thankful that he was spared in that terrible accident.

My amazing cousin Bruce with his darling wife Grace

My amazing cousin Bruce with his darling wife Grace

It was a fantabulous week at home!  And one that I will cherish.

Merry Christmas to one and all!  I hope you had as wonderful a Christmas as I did!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Top 5 Pet-Related Resolutions for 2014 Rainbow bridge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



