Florida Vacation – Disney World Animal Kingdom & Epcot

March 27, 2015 at 6:00 pm Leave a comment

 

Karen and I heading into Animal Kingdom

Karen and I heading into Animal Kingdom

Today I headed out, along with my friends Karen and Taty, two ladies I met while working in Alaska, to Animal Kingdom to have more fun and adventures.

Kilimanjaro Safari ride

Kilimanjaro Safari ride

First  thing on the agenda was the Kilimanjaro Safari ride.  Now normally I am not a fan of animals kept in captivity.  But after reading how much Disney does for the welfare of wildlife I felt much better about having a look at these animals.  Since 1995, the Disney Worldwide Conservation Fund (DWCF) has contributed more than $27 million dollars to support conservation programs in 114 countries.

DSC02445

So off we went in our jeep through the 110 acre wildlife reserve through open plains, shady forest landscapes and rocky wetlands.  We saw giraffes, elephants, hippos, rhinos, ostriches, and of course alligators.

DSC02444

Around every turn throughout the park there are entertainers including the African drummers that I loved the most!

African drummers

African drummers

We also went to a few shows including Finding Nemo, an interesting musical version of the film.  People carried around huge puppets of the characters and with the added special affects you almost felt like you were under the sea.

Flights of Wonder

Flights of Wonder

Another good show was the Flights of Wonder.  I was so impressed at the education that was taught during the show and message that “The future of the earth is in our hands. Be inspired to do your part today!”

The Lion King

The Lion King

But my very favorite show, and the highlight of the day, was the Lion King.  What an absolutely awesome production!  No one should miss this show.  From babies to grandparents, it will be a highlight of your day, I guarantee it!  I was so moved.

Expedition Everest!  Oh yes, I did it!

Expedition Everest! Oh yes, I did it!

Then on to some rides.  I normally don’t go on fast, roller coaster type rides but I know that Karen LOVES these kind of rides so I decided to take a leap of faith (that I wouldn’t die of a heart attack) and go on a ride with her.  All I can say is, I did it!  I did it!!!  And I lived to see another day :-)!

Getting ready to go on the Kali River Rapids ride!

Getting ready to go on the Kali River Rapids ride!

Then we headed to the Kali River Rapids ride to get in our raft and head down the river.

Kali River Rapids ride

Kali River Rapids ride

I’m not sure which one of us got the wettest, but when we got off the raft we were all drenched and laughing.  Time to go home!

Taty drenched from the river rapids ride

Taty drenched from the river rapids ride

The next day we pulled ourselves out of bed and got ready for another full day.  We started out at a lovely little French Café that Taty goes to frequently and had a wonderful breakfast of crepes and croissants.  Then off to Epcot!

Taty and I at the entrance of Epcot

Taty and I at the entrance of Epcot

I loved all the topiaries throughout the park.

Karen and I sitting in front of some topiaries

Karen and I sitting in front of some Disney character topiaries

More Disney characters

More Disney characters

We went to the Coral Reefs to see all the fish and marine life.  We went on the Spaceship Earth ride that took us on a ride through the history of communication.  Pretty interesting and well done!  After getting our fill of rides, off we went to a trip around the world at the World Showcase Lagoon.

The flowers were amazing!

The flowers were amazing!

All around the World Showcase Lagoon we walked through several countries.  In France we watched the Impressions de France film on a huge screen.  We listened to an outdoor concert in America.  We walked through the streets of Morocco.

Karen, Taty and I in "Morocco"

Karen, Taty and I in “Morocco”

In Italy we watched street performers and had pizza and sangrias.

Street performers in Italy

Street performers in Italy

Cheers to good friends and good times!

Cheers to good friends and good times!

Before we knew it, it was getting dark and time for the IllumiNations:  Reflections of Earth fireworks show.

Epcot at night

Epcot at night

All I can say is WOW!  What a beautiful and moving display!

IllumiNations

IllumiNations fireworks on the lagoon show

And the perfect way to end the day and our time with Taty.

My wild and wonderful friend Taty

My wild and wonderful friend Taty

The three Mousekateers!

The three Mousekateers!

And now it’s time to say good-bye…  Good-bye Disney World!  Good-bye Taty!  You helped make all my dreams come true.

DSC02015

 

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Florida Vacation – Grand Floridian, Downtown Disney & the Gaylord Palms Hotel Florida Vacation – Crystal River & Zephyrhills

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



